Menu
HomeSalem Witch Walking Tours1692 Salem Witchcraft Trials Walk
MOST REVIEWED1692 walks1692 sites not stated

1692 Salem Witchcraft Trials Walk

Ninety minutes on the record of 1692 — the jails where the accused were held, the court house, the homes of the judges and the accused. It meets at 8 Central Street, runs rain or shine, and is the only walk whose operator describes a wheelchair-accessible, fairly flat route. Rated 4.23 by 364 travellers — the most reviews of any walk in Salem.
DURATION1.5 hours
STOPS8–10
MEETS8 Central St
ACCESSwheelchair ok
1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk — operator photo 1
1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk — operator photo 2
1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk — operator photo 3
1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk — operator photo 4
1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk — operator photo 5
Worth itDatesReviewsWho it’s forBefore you bookRouteOptionsMeeting pointCompareFAQ 4.23 (364) · from $25Check dates
from$25per person · checked 23 Sep 2026
4.23364 reviews
1692 sites · not stated by operator
Runs rain or shine · a little over a mile · Cheaper alternative: the free self-guided route
Free cancellation · 24 h Pay later Rain or shine Wheelchair ok
Photos: operator, via GetYourGuide · prices checked 23 Sep 2026
WORTH ITDATESREVIEWSWHOROUTEMEETSCOMPARE
01Verdict

Is the 1692 Salem Witchcraft Trials Walk Worth It

The 1692 Salem Witchcraft Trials Walk is the most-reviewed guided walk in Salem: 364 reviews at 4.23 on GetYourGuide at the 23 September 2026 check, from $25 per person for 90 minutes. It meets at 8 Central Street, the 1805 Custom House at the corner of Essex and Central, and covers a little over a mile with eight to ten stops. The listing promises the events that led to the trials, the places linked to the judges and the accused, and the personal stories of those accused.

Its operator describes the tragedy in numbers — twenty people executed and five who died in jail — and the stops by type rather than by name: the jails where suspected witches were held, the court house, the homes of the judges and the accused. That is why this site marks its five tracked places as “not stated”: the operator does not name the Memorial, Charter Street or the Witch House, even though a walk on this theme passes through the same few streets. It is also the only walk whose operator calls its route wheelchair accessible and fairly flat, and guides use an amplifier for large groups.

Yes, if you want the trials told straight, for the lowest guided price in Salem. $25 for 90 minutes and eight to ten stops, with 364 reviews behind it. The honest minus: the operator does not name any of the five places of 1692 we track, so if you want the Memorial and Charter Street named on the route, the Witch Trial Walking Tour names three of them for $29.99.

05Pick a date
Powered by GetYourGuide · opens on this page

Booking links go to GetYourGuide. We earn a commission; the price you pay does not change. Affiliate disclosure

02Proof

What Travellers Say

The three quotes in this snapshot praise the amount of information and the guide’s knowledge of the trials; one reviewer calls it the best of several tours she took in Salem. With 364 reviews at 4.23 the rating is the most tested on this site. Quotes are short extracts with the reviewer’s first name and month.

4.23364 reviews
Guide
4.4
Value
4.2
Sub-scores from GetYourGuide · checked 23 Sep 2026

“Packed with tons of information and stories, this 90 minute tour satisfied the little girl history geek in me.”

Hayley · Oct 20251692 Witchcraft Trials Walk

“We did multiple tours while in Salem, and this was the best tour by far!”

Cheryl · Oct 20251692 Witchcraft Trials Walk
Reviews come from GetYourGuideAll 364 reviews →
03Fit

Who Should Book It and Who Should Skip It

Book it when price and a flat route matter most. Skip it when you want the places of 1692 named in advance or a longer walk: the Witch Trial Walking Tour names three of them, and Secrets of Salem takes two hours.

BOOK IT IF
You want the cheapest guided walk on the 1692 record
You want the judges, the accused and the jails in order
Someone in your group uses a wheelchair — the route is flat, in the partner’s words
You like a guide with an amplifier in a big group
SKIP IT IF
You want the most places of 1692 named — the Witch Trial Walking Tour lists three
You want to go inside the Witch House — only the Private Day Trip and the Halloween Season Day Tour from Boston do
You want nine stops in two hours — take Secrets of Salem instead
You want Proctor’s Ledge — no Salem walk lists it; see the Private Day Trip from Boston, one of four day trips that list it
04Before you book

The Four Things People Ask Before Paying

The walk runs rain or shine. The operator states no age policy. Free cancellation up to 24 hours before, and you can reserve now and pay later.

Cancellation
Free up to 24 hours before; reserve now, pay later.
Full answer in FAQ →
Rain
Runs rain or shine. Bring a jacket.
Full answer in FAQ →
Kids
Not stated by the operator. The route is 90 minutes and a little over a mile.
Full answer in FAQ →
Access & miles
Wheelchair accessible and fairly flat, in the partner’s words. A little over a mile.
Full answer in FAQ →

ACCESS AND MOBILITY

The partner’s own words decide what we write here. It lists no restrictions. Distance: a little over a mile, 8-10 stops. It runs rain or shine. If access is the deciding factor, message the operator through GetYourGuide before you book — it knows the route better than any listing.

Wheelchair accessible, in the partner’s words, on a fairly flat route of a little over a mile. Guides use an amplifier for large groups. Other free options: the self-guided route.

06Route

What Does the 1692 Salem Witchcraft Trials Walk Cover

A little over a mile with eight to ten stops in 90 minutes. The operator describes the stops by type, not by name — the jails where suspected witches were held, the court house, and the homes of the judges and the accused — so we list them that way.

We cannot show you a named route because the operator does not publish one; what it does publish is the scale — a little over a mile, eight to ten stops, 90 minutes — and the kind of places: jails, the court house and the homes of judges and accused. If you want the Memorial on your way, it is free and five minutes on foot from Essex Street.

  1. MEET · 0:008 Central St, 1805 Custom House
  2. STOP TYPEJails where the accused were held
  3. STOP TYPEThe court house
  4. STOP TYPEHomes of the judges and the accused
  5. STOPSEight to ten in all
  6. END · 1:30Not published
place of 1692The operator describes stops by type; no names, timings or order are published.
design note, not page content
07Options

Which Option to Book

At the 23 September 2026 check: from $25 per person, guided in English, with free cancellation up to 24 hours before and reserve now, pay later. Start times and any other option appear on GetYourGuide once you pick a date.

The calendar below is GetYourGuide’s own availability widget for the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk. It shows the dates that are still open, the options and the price for your party before you pay; the $25 we quote is the lowest adult price at the 23 September 2026 check. Booking opens on the partner’s site, and the ticket arrives on your phone.

Standard walkMain option
Other options
INCLUDES
Guide · 1.5-hour tour
Shown on the calendar
GROUP SIZE
not stated
LANGUAGE
English
START TIMES
Pick a date on the calendar
DURATION
1.5 h
FROM
$25 per person
Shown on the calendar
FOR
Most visitors
Options and live prices appear on GetYourGuide once you pick a date.Book this walk
08Included

What Is Included and What It Is Not Suitable For

The partner lists these inclusions: 1.5-hour tour; guide. Anything not on that list — entries, food, transport to the start — is not included unless the listing says so. Its not-suitable list is empty; the operator states no restrictions.

INCLUDED
Guide
1.5-hour tour
Amplifier for large groups
NOT SUITABLE FOR
None listed by the partner
Wheelchair users — accessible, the partner says
Age policy — not stated
design note, not page content
09Meeting point

Where Does the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk Meet

The meeting point is 8 Central Street, the big brick 1805 Custom House at the corner of Essex and Central Streets, marked with purple signs. Salem 101, a general history walk, meets at the same address, so check the name on the sign. The Witch Trials Memorial and the Charter Street burying point are a short walk away.

MEETS AT
8 Central Street
8 Central St, Salem, MA
The big brick building at the corner of Essex and Central Streets with purple signs — the 1805 Custom House, in the partner’s words
  • Look for the purple signs on the Custom House.
  • Coordinates below are the partner’s map pin.
  • Salem 101 General History Tour meets at the same address.
partner map pin
42.5215, -70.8939 partner pin
OPEN IN
Google MapsApple Maps
42.5215, -70.8939 partner pin
10Access

Access and Mobility

The partner’s own words decide what we write here. It lists no restrictions. Distance: a little over a mile, 8-10 stops. It runs rain or shine. If access is the deciding factor, message the operator through GetYourGuide before you book — it knows the route better than any listing.

Wheelchair accessible, in the partner’s words, on a fairly flat route of a little over a mile. Guides use an amplifier for large groups. Other free options: the self-guided route.

11More reviews

What 364 People Gave It

The 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk is rated 4.23 from 364 reviews on GetYourGuide at the 23 September 2026 check. The listing does not show the split by stars, so we show the rating and the quotes rather than invent a distribution. The quotes below are short extracts from real reviews, with the reviewer’s first name and the month; the full reviews are on the partner page.

“Our tour guide was very knowledgeable of the witch trials and it was great having the opportunity to listen to the history as we wandered around the town.”

Catherine · Oct 20251692 Witchcraft Trials Walk
12Compare

How the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk Compares

Against its neighbours it is the cheapest and the most reviewed. Secrets of Salem costs $10 more for half an hour more and a named stop at Charter Street; the Witch Trial Walking Tour costs $4.99 more and names three of the five places of 1692.

1692 Witchcraft Trials WalkThis page
Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking TourOur pick
Witch Trial Walking TourMost sites
DURATION
1.5 h
2 h
1.5 h
STOPS
8–10
9
not listed
SITES OF 1692
1692 sites · not stated by operator
1/5 sitesCharter St
3/5 sitesMemorialCharter StWitch House · outside
RATING
4.23 (364)
4.45 (208)
4.32 (40)
FROM
$25
$35
$29.99
FOR
The one most people take
Nine stops in two hours
Families; 3 of 5 sites
13FAQ

1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk FAQ

How long is the 1692 Salem Witchcraft Trials Walk?

About 90 minutes, with eight to ten stops over a little more than a mile, in the operator’s words. One reviewer describes it as a 90-minute tour packed with information and stories. Arrive a few minutes early at 8 Central Street to find the group by the purple signs.

Where does the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk start?

At 8 Central Street, the 1805 Custom House at the corner of Essex and Central Streets in the centre of Salem — a big brick building with purple signs. The partner’s map pin is at 42.5215, -70.8939.

Is the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk wheelchair accessible?

Yes, in the operator’s words: the tour is wheelchair accessible and the route is fairly flat. It is the only walk on this site that says so. Guides use an amplifier for large groups, which helps if you walk at the back.

How much does the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk cost?

From $25 per person at the 23 September 2026 check — the lowest price for a guided walk in Salem. The partner page shows the price for your date before you pay. Entries to the Witch House or the Salem Witch Museum are not included.

Does the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk run in the rain?

Yes, it runs rain or shine. Bring a jacket; the listing names no indoor stop.

What is the cancellation policy for the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk?

At the 23 September 2026 check the listing shows free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund, and you can reserve now and pay later. Inside 24 hours the partner’s terms apply; changes and refunds go through GetYourGuide, not through this site.

How do I book the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk?

Pick your date in the GetYourGuide calendar on this page or on the partner’s site, choose the option and pay there; the price for your party is shown before you confirm. The ticket arrives on your phone — show it at the start. This site does not take bookings or payments; it earns a commission from GetYourGuide, and your price stays the same.

Does the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk go inside the Witch House?

The operator does not list it. Adult entry to the Witch House costs $17, and children under four go free; from 15 April to 15 November it opens daily 10:00–17:00, in winter Thursday to Sunday 12:00–16:00. Two day trips from Boston include entry: the Private Salem Day Trip with Witch House Entry and the Small-Group Halloween Season Day Tour.

MOST REVIEWED
1692 Salem Witchcraft Trials Walk
1.5 hours · 8–10 stops · 4.23 (364) · from $25 per person
Check dates
Runs rain or shine · a little over a mile
READ ON