Menu
Salem Witch Trials Memorial: low granite bench-walls, flowers, summer trees
HomeSalem Witch Trials Tour

Salem Witch Trials Tour

8 walks stay on the record of 1692. One of the two most complete, the Witch Trial Walking Tour, reaches 3 of 5 sites — the Memorial, Charter Street and the Witch House from outside. Our pick for the money is Secrets of Salem — from $35, 4.45 (208). Prices checked 23 Sep 2026
Check dates · Secrets of Salem
Runs rain or shine · over a mile on foot
Compare all 8
HOW MANY OF THE 8 REACH EACH SITE
Memorial
4
Charter St
3
Witch House
2
Proctor's Ledge
0
Salem Village
1
of 8 walks · “not stated” counted as not reached
Our picksWhat you walkSalem VillageReviewsBefore you bookCompare 8The five placesDatesFAQ 4.45 (208) · from $35Check dates
Three ways to walk 1692 — pick the one that matches your afternoon

Our Pick for Each Kind of Afternoon

A salem witch trials tour is any guided walk that stays on the record of 1692 — the accusations, the examinations, the court and the executions — rather than on ghost stories. Eight walks on GetYourGuide qualify at this snapshot. They split three ways: walks that reach the most trial sites, walks that go deepest into the people and houses of the town, and walks beyond Salem itself.

For trial sites, take the Witch Trial Walking Tour: it names the Memorial, Charter Street and the Witch House (outside) in one 90-minute route, from $29.99. For depth, take Secrets of Salem — nine stops in two hours, from $35, rated 4.45 by 208 people. For where it all began, take the Salem Village walk in Danvers.

GUIDED, IN SALEMTwo hours on Essex Street — Nine stops in two hours; 208 reviews.
OUR PICK1692 walks
1692 walks
Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking Tour
2 h9 stopsSalem Five bank, 210 Essex St
1/5 sitesCharter St
4.45 (208)
Rain or shineNot wheelchair1+ mile
from
$35
per person
Book this walk
Runs rain or shine · over a mile on foot
THE FULL RECORDThe most on foot — Three of five sites, the joint most — the Memorial, Charter Street, the Witch House from outside.
ALL AGES1692 walks
1692 walks
Witch Trial Walking Tour
1.5 hstops not listedmeeting point not published
3/5 sitesMemorialCharter StWitch House · outside
4.32 (40)
All ages
from
$29.99
per person
Book this walk
Partner: suitable for all ages
WHERE IT BEGANDanvers, not Salem — Salem Village is a drive from Salem; one walk starts there.
DANVERS1692 walks
1692 walks
Salem Village Witch Hunt Walking Tour
1.5 hstops not listedDanvers · Training Field
1/5 sitesSalem Village
5.0 (4)
Starts in Danvers
from
$25
per person
Book this walk
Check dates · Witch Trial Walking TourGetYourGuide

Booking links go to GetYourGuide. We earn a commission; the price you pay does not change. Affiliate disclosure

Twenty names on granite, a burying point from 1637, the judge’s house

What You Walk Through on a Salem Witch History Walking Tour

Salem Witch Trials Walking Tour 1692 — What Happened Where

Between late February 1692 and April 1693 the accusations spread from Salem Village to the town and beyond. Nineteen people were hanged, Giles Corey was pressed to death on 19 September 1692, and at least five died in jail — at least twenty-five deaths in all. The first execution was Bridget Bishop’s on 10 June 1692; the last, on 22 September, took eight people.

A 1692 Salem tour shows you where the living part of that story happened. The accused were brought to Judge Jonathan Corwin’s house on Essex Street for pretrial examinations; Judge John Hathorne lies in the Charter Street burying point, in use since before 1637. The Memorial next to it was dedicated by Elie Wiesel on 5 August 1992. Proctor’s Ledge, at Pope Street and Boston Street, was confirmed as the execution site only in January 2016 and got its memorial on 19 July 2017.

The walk usually begins at the Memorial: twenty granite benches cut into a low wall, one for each person executed, each carved with a name, a date and a method. Next door is the Charter Street burying point, where Judge John Hathorne lies. The Witch House on Essex Street was the home of Judge Jonathan Corwin; it is the only house open to visitors with a direct link to the trials.

The walk usually begins at the Memorial: twenty granite benches cut into a low wall, one for each person executed, each carved with a name, a date and a method.

What most walks skip is Proctor’s Ledge, the hanging site, confirmed only in 2016 and about a mile from the Memorial. If standing there matters to you, only the day trips from Boston list it.

20benches, one per name
1637first burial at Charter St
2016year the Ledge was confirmed
Compare the eight walks
Memorial plaque with the names
Memorial plaque with the names
Charter Street burying point
Charter Street burying point
Bridget Bishop, 1692
Bridget Bishop, 1692
Danvers memorial: granite book inscribed to the innocents of 1692
It started a drive north-west, in what is now Danvers

Salem Village Witch Trials Tour

History of the Salem Witch Trials Walking Tour in Danvers

The Salem Village Witch Hunt Walking Tour is the only walk that starts where the accusations started. It meets at the Training Field next to Ingersoll Street in Danvers, costs from $25, runs about 90 minutes rain or shine, and visits the archaeological site of Reverend Parris’s parsonage, the site of Ingersoll’s ordinary and the Witchcraft Victims’ Memorial. It runs on selected dates from July to October; there are no bathrooms on the route. Drive or take a taxi from Salem.

The accusations of 1692 began in Salem Village — the parsonage of Reverend Parris and the meeting house where the first examinations took place. Today that is Danvers. One walk starts there; the rest never leave Salem Town. It has fewer than ten reviews, so we list it with that caveat.

Book this walk
Starts in Danvers — drive or take a taxi from Salem
What people said after walking the 1692 sites

Salem Witch Trials Tour Reviews

The three most-reviewed walks in this group have 364, 208 and 150 reviews. Quotes are short extracts with the reviewer’s first name and month; the full reviews are on GetYourGuide.

4.45(208)
Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking Tour

“No need for fancy costumes, just book this tour guide who has all the information you need.”

John · Dec 2025
4.23(364)
1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk

“Packed with tons of information and stories, this 90 minute tour satisfied the little girl history geek in me.”

Hayley · Oct 2025
4.61(150)
Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Walking Tour

“The one-hour tour was the perfect length and provided a fantastic overview of Salem's history. I highly recommend taking this tour first before visiting the museums.”

Jennifer · Jul 2026
Reviews come from GetYourGuide
Rain, kids, cancellation, cobbles — asked before paying

Before You Book

Rain
All eight run rain or shine where a policy is stated. The Memorial has no cover.
Full answer in FAQ →
Kids

One of the eight is marked “all ages”; the rest do not say. The Memorial names methods of death plainly.

Full answer in FAQ →
Cancellation
Free up to 24 hours before on every tour here.
Full answer in FAQ →
Wheelchairs & miles
Four walks say “not suitable” for limited mobility. None of the eight reaches Proctor’s Ledge.
Full answer in FAQ →
Which walk stands where — five places, eight walks

Salem Witch Trials Walking Tour by Trial Site

This salem history and witchcraft tour table sets each of the eight walks against the five places of 1692. A tick means the operator names the place in its own listing; “outside” means the walk passes the Witch House without going in; “not stated” means the operator is silent, which is not the same as “no”.

WALK
Memorial
Charter St
Witch House
Proctor's Ledge
Salem Village
TOTALRATINGFROM
Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking TourOUR PICK
not stated
✓ visits
not stated
not stated
✕ no
1/5
4.45 (208)$35Book this walk
1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk
not stated
not stated
not stated
not stated
✕ no
0/5
4.23 (364)$25Book this walk
Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Walking Tour
✓ visits
not stated
not stated
not stated
✕ no
1/5
4.61 (150)$29Book this walk
Ultimate Witches and Witchcraft of Salem Walking Tour
✓ visits
not stated
not stated
not stated
✕ no
1/5
3.91 (78)$35Book this walk
Witch Trial Walking Tour
✓ visits
✓ visits
outside
not stated
✕ no
3/5
4.32 (40)$29.99Book this walk
Salem Village Witch Hunt Walking Tour
not stated
not stated
not stated
not stated
✓ visits
1/5
5.0 (4)$25Book this walk
Historical & Witch Trials Walking Tour: SEE IT ALL
✓ visits
✓ visits
outside
not stated
✕ no
3/5
No reviews yet$39.20Book this walk
Salem Witch Tour
not stated
not stated
not stated
not stated
✕ no
0/5
★ 4.92 (9)$80Book this walk
✓ visitsoutside✓ insidenot stated✕ no“Not stated” is the operator’s silence, not a “no”. The Witch House is outside unless a walk says it goes in.

Salem Witch Trial Tours That Name the Most Sites

Two walks name three places each — the Witch Trial Walking Tour and SEE IT ALL: the Memorial, Charter Street and the Witch House from outside. None of the eight names Proctor’s Ledge; four day trips from Boston do. If you want a real witch guided history tour Salem style — a guide who tells the record, not a performance — read the verdict column before the price.

Salem Witch Trial Tours in Your Own Language

The Salem Witch Tour is the one walk sold as a tour in your own language, personalised for each group, from $80 for about 90 minutes. The listing does not name which languages; reviewers write about walking it in Spanish and in French. It visits the witchcraft shops of the town and stops at Old Town Hall for photos; a tarot or palm reading is optional at extra cost. It has nine reviews at 4.92, so we list it with that caveat, and the partner marks it not suitable for people with limited mobility.

Witch Trial Walking Tour — operator photo
Witch Trial Walking Tour · photo: operator, via GetYourGuide
Check datesSee all 12 walks →
Three steps, ticket on your phone

How Booking Works

1
Choose here
Compare the twelve; read the honest minus under each.
2
Check the date
The partner calendar opens on this page — no redirect until you pick.
3
Ticket on your phone
GetYourGuide sends it; show it to the guide at the meeting point.

Booking links go to GetYourGuide. We earn a commission; the price you pay does not change. Affiliate disclosure

Addresses, hours, entry — before you set off

The Five Places of 1692

All five places are free to see from outside. Three of them — the Memorial, Charter Street and the Witch House — sit within a short walk of each other in the centre; the Memorial and the burying point are 135 metres apart. Proctor’s Ledge is about a mile from downtown and has no parking; Salem Village is in Danvers.

Salem Witch Trials Memorial

ADDRESS
24 Liberty St
HOURS
Open daily, dawn–dusk
ENTRY
Free

Twenty granite benches around a quiet lawn, dedicated in 1992.

Charter Street Burying Point

ADDRESS
51 Charter St
HOURS
Summer 10–5; October by free timed reservation
ENTRY
Free

One of the oldest burying grounds in the country; Judge Hathorne lies here.

The Witch House

ADDRESS
310½ Essex St
HOURS
Daily 10–5, mid-Apr to mid-Nov
ENTRY
$17 inside

Home of Judge Jonathan Corwin; the only house open to visitors with a direct link to the trials.

Proctor's Ledge

ADDRESS
Pope St & Boston St
HOURS
Outdoor · no posted hours
ENTRY
Free

The hanging site, confirmed in 2016; a small memorial wall.

Salem Village Sites

ADDRESS
Danvers, MA
HOURS
Outdoor
ENTRY
Free

Parsonage foundations and the 1992 memorial; a drive from Salem.

Six things that catch people out — and what to do instead

Before You Go

01
Most walks skip Proctor’s Ledge
It is off the Essex St loop.
Take a day trip from Boston that lists it, or go yourself — about a mile from the Memorial.
02
The Witch House is outside only
None of the eight goes in; two pass the door.
Buy the $17 entry separately, or take the Private Day Trip from Boston.
03
October is the busiest month
Haunted Happenings fills the town all month.
Check dates as soon as yours are fixed, or come the first week of November.
04
Salem Village is in Danvers
It is a drive from Salem.
Take the Danvers walk, or drive after lunch.
05
Four walks say “not suitable” for limited mobility
Brick sidewalks, more than a mile.
The self-guided route is free and at your own pace.
06
The Witch Museum is not a tour
It is a seated presentation; allow up to an hour.
Pair it with a walk — the Boston trip includes entry.

Salem Witch Trials Tour FAQ

Which salem witch trials tour goes to Proctor’s Ledge?

None of the eight walks in Salem lists it. Four day trips from Boston do: the Private Salem Day Trip with Witch House Entry, the Small-Group Halloween Season Day Tour and both Hammond Castle trips, with 10 to 15 minutes at the site. On your own, Proctor’s Ledge is at Pope Street and Boston Street, about a mile from downtown. There is no parking at the site; park at Gallows Hill Park and walk down.

Is there a salem witch trials tour inside the Witch House?

Not among the walks: the Witch Trial Walking Tour and SEE IT ALL pass the house outside. Two day trips from Boston include entry — the Private Salem Day Trip with Witch House Entry and the Small-Group Halloween Season Day Tour. On your own, adult entry is $17 and children under four go free; the house opens daily 10:00–17:00 from 15 April to 15 November.

How long is a salem witch trials tour?

Between one and two hours. The Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts walk takes one hour; the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk, the Witch Trial Walking Tour, the Salem Witch Tour and the Salem Village walk take about 90 minutes; Secrets of Salem, Ultimate Witches and SEE IT ALL take two hours.

Is a salem witch trials tour ok for kids?

The Witch Trial Walking Tour is the one walk the partner marks “suitable for all ages”; the others do not state an age policy. The Memorial names each person and how they died, which reads as sober rather than scary. Walks cover a mile or more, so younger children may tire before the end.

What is the best salem witch trials tour?

By review count, the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk leads with 364 reviews at 4.23 and costs from $25. Our pick is Secrets of Salem, 4.45 from 208 reviews, for its nine stops in two hours. For the most trial sites in one walk, choose the Witch Trial Walking Tour. Ultimate Witches is rated 3.91 from 78 reviews — read the reviews before you book it.

Do salem witch trials tours go to the Salem Witch Museum?

None of the eight walks includes museum entry. The museum is a seated presentation of about half an hour plus an exhibit — allow up to an hour — and an adult ticket costs $19. The only GetYourGuide listing with museum entry is the From Boston: Salem Witch Trials History Tour, from $190.

Where do salem witch trials tours start?

Mostly in the centre. Secrets of Salem and Ultimate Witches meet outside the Salem Five bank at 210 Essex Street; the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk meets at 8 Central Street; Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts outside Not Ya Mama’s Vegan Cafe; SEE IT ALL at the train station; the Salem Village walk in Danvers. Two operators give only a map pin.

Do salem witch trials tours run in the rain?

Five of the eight say rain or shine: the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk, Secrets of Salem, Ultimate Witches, the Witch Trial Walking Tour and the Salem Village walk. The others do not state a policy. There is no indoor stretch at the Memorial or the burying point.

Can I see the witch trial sites without a tour?

Yes. The Memorial is free and open dawn to dusk, Charter Street is free (in October with a free same-day reservation), and the Witch House can be seen from Essex Street or visited for $17. A guide adds the order of events and the stories behind the names, which is the part a map cannot give you.

Why do some walks show “not stated” for a site?

Because we only mark a site when the operator names it in its own listing. Many walks pass places they do not list, and some list places they only point at. “Not stated” keeps us honest: it means the operator is silent, not that the walk avoids the place. Ask the guide on the day if one site matters to you.

OUR PICK
Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking Tour
2 h · 9 stops · 4.45 (208) · from $35 per person
Check dates
Runs rain or shine · over a mile on foot
READ ON