“No need for fancy costumes, just book this tour guide who has all the information you need.”
John · Dec 2025
Salem Witch Tours

“Not stated” = the operator doesn’t list it. Walks differ mostly by how many of the five they reach.
Best Salem Witch Tours
Twelve guided and self-guided walks go through Salem, MA on GetYourGuide, and they differ less by price than by where they actually stop. Our default pick is Secrets of Salem Hidden History Walking Tour: two hours, nine stops, a start outside the Salem Five bank at 210 Essex Street, and 208 reviews at 4.45 — the second-largest count of any walk in town. It confirms Charter Street, the burying point where Judge John Hathorne lies.
If that is not your afternoon, three alternatives cover the usual constraints: the one-hour Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts walk (4.61 from 150 reviews) when time is short, the Witch Trial Walking Tour when you travel with children (the only walk the partner marks “suitable for all ages”), and the From Boston day trip when you have no car — it is the only listing on this site that includes Salem Witch Museum entry.

Why this one: Nine stops in two hours, Charter Street confirmed, meets on Essex St — and 208 reviews, the second-largest count in Salem.
Partner marks it “all ages”; three of the five sites, the joint most; confirm the meeting point after booking.
Booking links go to GetYourGuide. We earn a commission; the price you pay does not change. Affiliate disclosure
Salem Witch Tour vs Ghost Tour
A salem witch tour vs ghost tour is a choice between two different products that share one word. A witch trials walk tells the history of 1692 at the places where it happened — the Memorial on Liberty Street, the Charter Street burying point, the house of Judge Jonathan Corwin — and it runs in daylight. A ghost walk is an evening format built around legends and “haunted” houses; this site does not rank ghost walks, our sister site does.

- WHAT
- History of 1692 told at the places where it happened
- WHEN
- Daytime, all year
- WHERE IT GOES
- Memorial · Charter Street · Witch House; Proctor’s Ledge only on day trips from Boston
- PRICE
- $25–80 per person
- WHO
- Anyone who wants the story straight; families; first visits

- WHAT
- Hauntings, legends, a lantern — entertainment first
- WHEN
- After dark, mostly Sep–Nov
- WHERE IT GOES
- Old Burying Point, taverns, “haunted” houses
- PRICE
- compared on our sister site
- WHO
- Groups of adults; anyone here for the mood, not the record

Salem Witch Tours Reviews
Ratings below always come with their review count, because a 5.0 from four people and a 4.45 from 208 are not the same signal. Quotes are short extracts from GetYourGuide reviews, shown with the reviewer’s first name and the month they walked.
“Packed with tons of information and stories, this 90 minute tour satisfied the little girl history geek in me.”
Hayley · Oct 2025
“The one-hour tour was the perfect length and provided a fantastic overview of Salem's history. I highly recommend taking this tour first before visiting the museums.”
Jennifer · Jul 2026
Before You Book
One walk is marked “all ages” by the partner; one is 21+; under-fives can’t ride the Boston coach.
Full answer in FAQ →How Booking Works
Booking links go to GetYourGuide. We earn a commission; the price you pay does not change. Affiliate disclosure
Check dates for our pickSalem Witch Tours at a Glance
This is every witch tour Salem has on GetYourGuide at the 23 September 2026 check: eleven guided walks and one self-guided audio route, plus our own free route for comparison. The salem witch tours Salem MA visitors can book start from nine different places — most within a few minutes of Essex Street, one at the train station and one in Danvers, where Salem Village stood in 1692.
The column that matters most is “Sites of 1692”. It counts which of the five places — the Memorial, Charter Street, the Witch House, Proctor’s Ledge and Salem Village — each operator names in its own listing. “Not stated” means the operator is silent, not that the walk avoids the place.
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Runs rain or shine · over a mile on foot
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Runs rain or shine
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Partner: suitable for all ages
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
Book this walkaccess · more ▾
All spell ingredients included
Salem Witch Trials Tour
Eight of the Salem MA witch tours stay on the historical record of 1692 rather than on legends. None of them lists Proctor’s Ledge, the site confirmed in January 2016 as the place of the hangings; the Witch Trial Walking Tour and SEE IT ALL each name three of the five places, the most of any walk.
Salem Witch Tours from Boston
Six trips start in Boston. The fullest day is the coach tour from $190 with Salem Witch Museum and House of the Seven Gables entry; a small group of up to nine adds Hammond Castle and Proctor’s Ledge for $225. Doing it yourself costs $10 on the MBTA weekend pass — the Newburyport/Rockport line from North Station reaches Salem in about 36 minutes — plus a guided walk from $25.
Salem Witch Tours in October
Salem witch tourism peaks in October, and salem witch tours 2026 follow the festival calendar: the city of about 45,000 people counted 1.1 million unique visitors in October 2025. Haunted Happenings runs 1–31 October 2026, with the Grand Parade on Thursday 1 October at 18:30. Sunset moves from 18:25 on 1 October to 17:38 on the 31st, so a daytime walk has less light each week.
Which Salem Witch Tour Fits Your Day
Salem Witch Workshops
Four sessions on GetYourGuide leave you with something to take home. The Witch City Broom Making Workshop is the best-rated product on this site — 4.92 from 159 reviews, from $135 — and the Psychic Bewitched Tour pairs a walk past the Memorial and the Witch House with a tarot reading, from $140.


Four workshops sit next to the walks: a broom you make and take home, a walk that ends in practice, a tarot reading, a costumed photo session. Two of them — the practice walk and the tarot walk — pass the Memorial and the Witch House; the broom and the photo session stay indoors.
See all 4 workshopsSelf Guided Salem Witch Tour
You can see three of the five places of 1692 for free: the Witch Trials Memorial, the Charter Street burying point next door (135 metres away) and the Witch House from the street. Going inside the Witch House costs $17; the Salem Witch Museum presentation costs $19 for an adult.
Salem Witch Tours FAQ
Are salem witch tours worth it?▾
Yes, if you want the places of 1692 explained where they happened. A guide adds what a map cannot: who stood trial at which house, why the Memorial has twenty benches, where the judges are buried. The twelve walks on this site state between none and three of the five sites, and prices run from $25 for a guided walk. If you only want to stand at the Memorial and Charter Street, the free self-guided route does that without a ticket.
Winston salem witch tours?▾
There are no Winston-Salem witch tours in the sense this site covers. Winston-Salem is a city in North Carolina that grew from a Moravian settlement, and it has no connection to the witch trials. The trials of 1692 happened in Salem, Massachusetts, and in Salem Village, which is now Danvers. Every walk listed here starts in Salem, MA, except the Salem Village walk in Danvers and the day trips that pick you up in Boston.
Salem nh witch tours?▾
Salem, New Hampshire is a different town in a different state, known for the stone site called America’s Stonehenge rather than for 1692. None of the witch trials took place there, and none of the walks on this site go there. If a search result offers witch tours in Salem NH, check the address: the history, the Memorial and the Witch House are all in Salem, Massachusetts, about 36 minutes by train from Boston’s North Station.
How long is a salem witch tour?▾
Most guided walks run 1.5 to 2 hours; two run one hour — the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts walk and the Lucinda Lipol walk. Day trips from Boston take 5 to 8.5 hours door to door. Workshops run from 30 minutes for the costume photo session to 3 hours for the psychic walk with a tarot reading.
How long is the salem witch museum tour?▾
The Salem Witch Museum is not a walking tour: it is a seated presentation with life-size stage sets, followed by an exhibit. Presentations start every half-hour, with check-in fifteen minutes before, and the museum asks you to allow up to one hour for the visit. An adult ticket costs $19. On GetYourGuide the only listing that includes museum entry is the From Boston: Salem Witch Trials History Tour, from $190.
How far in advance should I book a salem witch tour in October?▾
Operators do not publish sell-out data, so we will not invent a number of weeks. What is known: Salem counted 1.1 million unique visitors in October 2025, the Charter Street burying point needs a free same-day reservation in October, and Witch Museum tickets for the next day go on sale online at 22:00. Check your date on the partner calendar as soon as it is fixed: every tour on this site shows free cancellation up to 24 hours before, so booking early costs nothing.
Do salem witch tours run in the rain?▾
Every walk that states a weather policy runs rain or shine: the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk, Secrets of Salem, Ultimate Witches, the Witch Trial Walking Tour, the Salem Village walk in Danvers and Salem 101 all say so, as does the psychic walk. The broom workshop and the photo studio are indoors. For the rest the operator does not state a policy. The Memorial and the burying point have no cover, so bring a jacket.
Are salem witch tours wheelchair accessible?▾
Only two operators say so in their own words: the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk describes a wheelchair-accessible, fairly flat route, and Salem 101 a relatively flat one. Secrets of Salem is listed as not suitable for wheelchair users, and Ultimate Witches, the Salem Witch Tour and the Salem Village walk as not suitable for people with limited mobility. The Witch Trials Memorial itself is accessible; the broom workshop has stairs.
Can I walk up to a salem witch tour without booking?▾
None of the operators on this site says whether it takes walk-ups, so the only safe answer is to book the date first — tickets arrive on your phone, and the guide checks them at the meeting point. In October, when Salem is at its busiest, that matters more. If you would rather decide on the day, the self-guided route needs no ticket at all, and the Memorial and Charter Street are free.
How many miles do you walk on a salem witch tour?▾
Only four listings state a distance. The 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk covers a little over a mile with eight to ten stops; Secrets of Salem and Ultimate Witches warn that they cover more than a mile; the walk that ends in a witchcraft practice covers 1.5 miles. The others do not say. Salem’s historic streets are compact: the Memorial is five minutes on foot from 210 Essex Street.
Is the Salem Witch Trials Memorial free?▾
Yes. The Memorial on Liberty Street is free and open from dawn to dusk. It was dedicated on 5 August 1992 by Elie Wiesel and honours twenty people executed in 1692 — nineteen hanged and Giles Corey, pressed to death. It is wheelchair accessible. Tour groups must not stand on the benches or walls, block the paths, or light candles. The Charter Street burying point is next door.
Which salem witch tours go inside the Witch House?▾
No walk in Salem goes inside; walks such as the Witch Trial Walking Tour and SEE IT ALL pass the house outside. Two day trips from Boston include entry: the Private Salem Day Trip with Witch House Entry and the Small-Group Halloween Season Day Tour. On your own, adult entry is $17, daily 10:00–17:00 from 15 April to 15 November and Thursday to Sunday in winter.
What is the cancellation policy for salem witch tours?▾
At the 23 September 2026 check, every tour on this site shows free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund, and all of them let you reserve now and pay later. Inside 24 hours the partner’s terms apply; the booking page shows them next to the price before you pay.
Are salem witch tours scary?▾
Daytime trials walks are history, not horror. The Memorial names each person executed and how they died, which some children find sobering, but nothing jumps out at you. Ghost walks are a different product built around legends and the dark; they live on our sister site. The Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts walk mixes the two — half history, half haunts — in one hour.
Can I take kids on a salem witch tour?▾
Yes, with a choice. The Witch Trial Walking Tour is the only walk the partner marks “suitable for all ages”; the Lucinda Lipol walk is adults only, 21 and over. On the From Boston coach tour children under five are not suitable. Private car trips from Boston fall under Massachusetts car-seat law up to 8 years or 57 inches, and seats are not provided.