Salem Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Walking Tour





Is the Salem Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Walking Tour Worth It
The Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Walking Tour is the one-hour option among Salem walks: from $29 per person, rated 4.61 by 150 travellers on GetYourGuide at the 23 September 2026 check — the highest rating among walks with more than 100 reviews. It meets outside Not Ya Mama’s Vegan Cafe and is led by a professional licensed guide.
It is a hybrid by design. Half of the hour is the history of the trials, with the Witch Trials Memorial on the route; the other half is Salem’s “haunted” buildings and cemeteries, plus the McIntire District, Washington Square and Hocus Pocus filming locations. If you want only the record of 1692, a longer walk gives you more; if you want an overview before the museums, one reviewer recommends exactly this walk as a first step.
Yes, if you have one hour and want history with a little atmosphere. $29 for an hour, rated 4.61 from 150 reviews. The honest minus: half of the hour is haunts rather than the record of 1692, and the operator names only one of the five places we track, the Memorial. For the trials alone, the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk is $25 for 90 minutes.
Booking links go to GetYourGuide. We earn a commission; the price you pay does not change. Affiliate disclosure
What Travellers Say
The reviews in this snapshot praise the length and the guides: one calls the hour the perfect length for an overview before visiting the museums, another thanks the guide for walking in the rain. Quotes are short extracts with the reviewer’s first name and month.
“The one-hour tour was the perfect length and provided a fantastic overview of Salem's history. I highly recommend taking this tour first before visiting the museums.”
Jennifer · Jul 2026Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts
“Chris was outstanding, very knowledgeable and passionate about his subject and town.”
David · Sep 2026Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts
Who Should Book It and Who Should Skip It
Book it when you have one hour or want a light first overview. Skip it when you came for the trials alone; the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk stays on the record for 90 minutes and costs less.
The Four Things People Ask Before Paying
The operator states no rain policy, no age policy and no access details; cancellation is free up to 24 hours before. One reviewer walked it on a rainy day.
ACCESS AND MOBILITY
The partner’s own words decide what we write here. It lists no restrictions. It does not state a distance. If access is the deciding factor, message the operator through GetYourGuide before you book — it knows the route better than any listing.
Access not stated by the operator. The walk lasts one hour through the historic centre on city sidewalks. If step-free access matters, ask the operator through GetYourGuide before booking, or take the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk.
What Does the Salem Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Walking Tour Cover
One hour through the centre. The operator names four stops — the Witch Trials Memorial, the McIntire District, Washington Square, and cemeteries and former jails — plus Hocus Pocus filming locations it does not name. Of the five places of 1692, the Memorial is confirmed.
The operator names four stops and the Hocus Pocus locations. Only one of them is among the five places of 1692 we track: the Witch Trials Memorial on Liberty Street, free and open from dawn to dusk. Charter Street is next door to the Memorial but the operator does not name it.
- MEET · 0:00Not Ya Mama’s Vegan Cafe
- NAMED STOP · 1692Witch Trials Memorial
- NAMED STOPMcIntire District
- NAMED STOPWashington Square
- NAMED STOPCemeteries and former jails
- END · 1:00Not published
Which Option to Book
At the 23 September 2026 check: from $29 per person, guided in English, with free cancellation up to 24 hours before and reserve now, pay later. Start times and any other option appear on GetYourGuide once you pick a date.
The calendar below is GetYourGuide’s own availability widget for the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts. It shows the dates that are still open, the options and the price for your party before you pay; the $29 we quote is the lowest adult price at the 23 September 2026 check. Booking opens on the partner’s site, and the ticket arrives on your phone.
What Is Included and What It Is Not Suitable For
The partner lists these inclusions: in-depth history of Salem; witch Trials Memorial and Hocus Pocus movie locations; mcIntire and Washington Square; professional licensed guide. Anything not on that list — entries, food, transport to the start — is not included unless the listing says so. Its not-suitable list is empty; the operator states no restrictions.
Where Does the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Meet
The group meets outside a restaurant called Not Ya Mama’s Vegan Cafe, in the partner’s words. The partner gives no arrival time; arrive a few minutes early. The Memorial, the first named stop, is in the historic centre.
Downtown Salem, MA
- Arrive a few minutes early; the partner gives no time.
- Coordinates below are the partner’s map pin.
- The Memorial, the first named stop, is in the centre.
42.5224, -70.8932 partner pin
Access and Mobility
The partner’s own words decide what we write here. It lists no restrictions. It does not state a distance. If access is the deciding factor, message the operator through GetYourGuide before you book — it knows the route better than any listing.
Access not stated by the operator. The walk lasts one hour through the historic centre on city sidewalks. If step-free access matters, ask the operator through GetYourGuide before booking, or take the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk.
What 150 People Gave It
The Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts is rated 4.61 from 150 reviews on GetYourGuide at the 23 September 2026 check. The listing does not show the split by stars, so we show the rating and the quotes rather than invent a distribution. The quotes below are short extracts from real reviews, with the reviewer’s first name and the month; the full reviews are on the partner page.
“I really appreciate her bearing with us on such a rainy day.”
Juan · Sep 2026Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts
How the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Compares
Against its neighbours it is the shortest and the best-rated. The 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk is $4 cheaper and 30 minutes longer; Secrets of Salem is $6 more and an hour longer, with nine stops.
Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts FAQ
How long is the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts Walking Tour?▾
One hour — one of the two shortest guided walks in Salem, with the Lucinda Lipol walk. One reviewer calls it the perfect length and recommends it before visiting the museums.
Where does the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts tour start?▾
Outside Not Ya Mama’s Vegan Cafe in the centre of Salem, in the partner’s words. The partner’s map pin is at 42.5224, -70.8932.
Is the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts tour scary?▾
It is half history, half haunts: the Memorial and the trials, then “haunted” buildings and cemeteries. It is a daytime walk with a licensed guide, not a performance. For ghost walks after dark, see our sister site.
How much does the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts tour cost?▾
From $29 per person at the 23 September 2026 check. The partner page shows the price for your date before you pay.
Is the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts tour wheelchair accessible?▾
The operator does not state it. The walk lasts one hour on city sidewalks in the centre. If step-free access matters, ask the operator through GetYourGuide before booking, or take the 1692 Witchcraft Trials Walk, whose operator describes a wheelchair-accessible route.
What is the cancellation policy for the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts?▾
At the 23 September 2026 check the listing shows free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund, and you can reserve now and pay later. Inside 24 hours the partner’s terms apply; changes and refunds go through GetYourGuide, not through this site.
How do I book the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts?▾
Pick your date in the GetYourGuide calendar on this page or on the partner’s site, choose the option and pay there; the price for your party is shown before you confirm. The ticket arrives on your phone — show it at the start. This site does not take bookings or payments; it earns a commission from GetYourGuide, and your price stays the same.
Does the Witch Trial History and Salem Haunts go inside the Witch House?▾
The operator does not list it. Adult entry to the Witch House costs $17, and children under four go free; from 15 April to 15 November it opens daily 10:00–17:00, in winter Thursday to Sunday 12:00–16:00. Two day trips from Boston include entry: the Private Salem Day Trip with Witch House Entry and the Small-Group Halloween Season Day Tour.